Skip to content

Tales from the Cards wants you!

by on September 29, 2015
You can't resist this gaze!

You can’t resist this gaze!

Hi there LOTR LCG community,

I (Ian) have been happily running this blog for almost 3 years now, and I’ve had a great time doing so. Along the way, I’ve had guest writers create some fantastic articles. However, with my ever-growing struggle to keep several different balls in the air at once, including work on this blog, the time-consuming development and maintenance of the First Age project, participating in The Grey Company podcast, and work, commuting, and family, there’s plenty of LOTR LCG topics that I’d love to cover and write about that I just have to leave by the wayside. So I’m looking for a writer (or even several writers) to join TftC on a more permanent basis than the guest writers I’ve had in the past. I know there are plenty of players out there in the community who are itching to talk about the game, and perhaps looking for a venue to do that or even considering starting their own blog.

This obviously requires a level of commitment, as again, I’d prefer a fairly permanent contributor (although obviously you are not signing a contract in blood!). I’m looking for someone who can commit to writing at least 1 blog post every 1-2 weeks. If you don’t feel like you can meet that pace, but still want to participate, then feel free to submit your work for consideration as part of a guest spotlight or series of guest spotlight articles instead.

What do you get in return for your time and effort? Certainly no great wealth, or any wealth at all for that matter. But you will get your work put in front of an established and broad readership who are always hungry for more content. Building up such a base yourself would take quite a bit of time, take it from me!

If you are interested, send an e-mail to talesfromthecards@gmail.com. Just tell me a little bit about yourself, your experience with the game, what your angle/approach would be, and what you are most excited to write about. If you can include a writing sample, that’d be helpful too. Don’t stress too much. This isn’t a job interview! I just want to make sure a new writer is a good fit for the blog. Thanks and good luck!

-Ian-

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Fouilloux permalink

    Hi Iain!
    I still plan to send you the following chapter of my “quest” campaign, but I did not find the courage yet to start over again, after my work was stolen with my computer…

    But it is still in my to do list and I won’t let you down!

    • TalesfromtheCards permalink

      Looking forward to it! I’ve had a couple of instances in my time of losing work, and it’s always really hard to start over again.

  2. Kjeld permalink

    Have you considered devoting a sub-blog to custom content? In addition to your own First Age content, there are a number of other custom quests, player cards, and accessories (e.g. game mats) out there (OCTGN now includes a bunch, for example). It might be interesting to review or at least summarize some of the fan-made aspects of the game. There could also be a designer workshop or something that would offer tips for making custom cards and accessories (e.g. how to use Strange Eons).

    • TalesfromtheCards permalink

      That’s a good idea. It’s one of those topics that I’d love to talk about, but just don’t have time to cover, so it’s likely that a contributor will be talking about custom content in the near future!

Leave a Reply

