Skip to content

LCG Poll Results

by on March 18, 2013

The results of the latest poll are in! I was curious as to how many LOTR LCG players also played some of the other LCG’s designed by Fantasy Flight Games, and how many were strictly devoted to just the one. A good proprotion of respondents (53 votes) only play LOTR LCG. The remaining 107 respondents play at least one of the other LCG’s:

– 31 play Star Wars

– 30 play Netrunner

– 23 play Game of Thrones

– 13 play Warhammer: Invasion

– 8 play Call of Cthulhu

It is somewhat surprising that the newest LCG on the block, Star Wars, got the most love, but I guess I should never underestimate the power of the Force. Netrunner, also a fairly new entry, received a lot of votes as well, as did the venerable Game of Thrones LCG. It is not surprising that Warhammer: Invasion and Call of Cthulhu received the least votes, as they are less popular than the other LCG’s, at least from what I know (though this doesn’t necessarily say anything about the quality of these games).

Personally, the only LCG I play other than LOTR is Game of Thrones, and I only have the Core Set! I would like to expand my collection, but the card pool is so large, it is definitely a bit intimidating. I would like to jump into Netrunner in the near future as well, as it is the LCG that attracts my attention the most.

I suppoe that the overall conclusion is that while one LCG can definitely be a “gateway drug” to other LCG’s, I think that LOTR LCG is also unique enough that people who don’t play other LCG’s or aren’t even big gamers in general can find something to love in this particular game.

 

Next poll should be up momentarily!

From → News

3 Comments
  1. shipprekk permalink

    I wonder how many people took “play” to mean “own”? Because the only other LCG I own is Netrunner, but I play Cthulhu with some dewds down at the game shop so I counted it.

  2. Thaddeus permalink

    I own a few decks for Game of Thrones from before it was folded into the LCG format. I never got strongly into it though and have only played it a couple of times since said shift.

  3. sweetnesswhachacha permalink

    I love the living card format. Chasing down cards is expensive, frustrating, and you can never get them all. If I was back home I’d give more of them a try (with friends ), but for now I’m loving the lotr lcg, each quest refreshing and a new challenge! The GoT and netrunner definitely sound the most interesting. Although now Arkham horror has been released, but probably too redundant with this game, although solo-able, so good to put on the shortlist

Leave a Reply

