Skip to content

5 Cards That Heirs of Numenor Have Made Relevant Again

by on December 13, 2012

I am really enjoying the time I have spent with Heirs so far. I successfully conquered the Peril in Pelargir, and now have been swimming neck deep in enemies with the Into Ithilien quest. One of the things that I really love about this expansion so far is the way that it is forcing players to re-examine how they build decks. I really feel tested as a player and a deck-builder, in a way that I haven’t felt since my struggles with Conflict at the Carrock back in the day. So as I was building and re-building decks recently, I have found myself including cards that previously didn’t see the light of day, and I’m glad that these cards are no longer doomed to a fate of gathering dust. Here they are:

For Gondor

for gondor

This one is clear. Previously, there was not much use for this card. It did provide a global boost to attack, but I never found it useful enough to include in a deck, and there weren’t enough Gondor characters to benefit from the defense buff. Now I find this card extremely useful, mostly to give a questing boost for those battle stages.


Beorn (Hero)

beorn

Yup, the bear never hit the table as a hero for me, mostly because I could generate enough attack with other heroes and his restriction on attachments and immunity to healing effects harshly limited his utility. Now I find his 10 hit points useful in soaking up damage when the encounter deck is dealing out damage like candy on Halloween. More than anything though, that 5 attack can be key in the early stages of a battle quest (he’s like the battle Eowyn).

• Guard of the Citadel

guard of the citadel

I haven’t used this guy in ages, as he quickly became too vanilla and not powerful enough to justify using with the first few AP’s that came out. Now, he is a low-cost Leadership ally that has 2 hit points and 2 attack with Leadership Boromir’s ability.

• Trollshaw Scout

trollshaw scout

I never saw a big use for him before, since it was nice that he didn’t need to exhaust to attack, but it required discarding a card. In the past, I would rather include Watcher of the Bruinen, if I was going to include one of the card-burning allies. However, he suddenly becomes a lot more useful to help with battle questing, and dealing with the massive amounts of enemies that come off the encounter deck in these scenarios.

• Path of Need

path of need

I still hate that this card is limited to only one per deck, and the 4 cost is still a bit prohibitive. However, in battles and sieges, we now have the tough challenge of exhausting valuable attackers and defenders in order to quest, which renders us far more valuable to enemies. This card essentially allows the player to devote everyone for one turn to a battle or siege without exhausting them, leaving them free to deal with enemies in combat (technically, this card lasts as long as a card is the active location, which in practice means it will probably last for one turn if you are questing with everyone). This can turn the tide during a scenario.

*Pro Tip: Use Thror’s Map or a similar card to remove the location Path of Need is attached to from being the active location after the staging step and before quest resolution. This will keep it in play so that you can travel to that location on another turn, and get another use out of Path of Need.

Honorable Mention: Self Preservation

self preservation

I haven’t used this card in a long time as there have been better and cheaper healing options (especially Warden of Healing), and to be honest I haven’t had to include a lot of healing effects in recent scenarios. However, the amount of damage inflicted by these Heirs scenarios through archery, high attack enemies, and treacheries has made me consider bringing Self Preservation back into the mix, along with Lore of Imladris.

What do you think everyone? What cards have you found yourself using that were previously collecting dust because of these new scenarios and mechanics?

From → Top 5 Lists

4 Comments
  1. John permalink

    I think the Eagle cards gained new life with this set. Not that they were ever bad, but they become doubly useful as powerful combatants and strong questers during battles and sieges.

    Another solid card that becomes an absolute all-star in these quests is Elfhelm. All three scenarios tend to cause lots and lots of incremental threat gains (Collateral Damage, Harbor Storehouse, Battering Ram, etc.). A ready Elfhelm can frequently negate upwards of ten threat over the course of a scenario, buying you invaluable time and giving you more control over enemy engagements. He’s a card that I’ve only used occasionally, but I think he’s excellent in this box.

    Also, the new Gandalf (OHaUH) is REALLY good in these scenarios. You’ll need some serious threat management (e.g., Lore Aragorn), but Big G’s ability to contribute four questing power AND defend/attack every single round is absolutely huge. Again, not a card that was ever bad, but one that really shines in Heirs.

    More generally, though, I think this expansion gave new life to a whole suite of Tactics cards and made that sphere at least somewhat viable for solo play. Tactics Boromir becomes a solid quester during battles and sieges, Legolas has stuff to do when there are no enemies in play, etc. Spirit is still useful, but primarily for its threat reduction and cancellation; those boatloads of willpower really don’t mean much in these scenarios. I always enjoy quests that throw a wrench into the plans of conventional decks, and this box does that in spades.

  2. Gandalf (OHaUH) is a good suggestion. I tend to still default mostly to the old Gandalf, but I’m going to give the new version a try in these quests. One of the difficult things is building a deck that can handle battles, sieges, AND regular questing.

  3. shipprekk permalink

    Do you find yourself building more single sphere decks, as was predicted?

    -Derek

  4. Yes and no. To be successful in these scenarios you really have to get allies out quickly and also maximize your event cards and attachments as well. Going mono means having more resources to do that. So I definitely have found myself using single sphere decks for the first time in a looooong while, mostly mono Tactics decks (because of the strong heroes in that sphere and because it is best suited for battles and sieges). However, if anything these scenarios, in my opinion, actually call for well-balanced decks more than ever. You definitely need the threat reduction of Spirit, the resource generation/manipulation of Leadership, and the encounter deck neutering of Lore, all at once. So that means that I’ve been experimenting with using one mono Tactics deck and one multi-sphere deck. I feel like going single sphere would be too imbalanced, in my opinion, though I think a single mono Tactics deck (with a splash of other spheres) might be able to do it solo.

Leave a Reply

